Ashtanga Yoga Norman

Ashtanga Yoga Norman

What is Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtanga Yoga, also known as “eight-limbed yoga”, is a system of yoga based on the teachings of Patanjali, an Indian sage who wrote a text called the Yoga Sutras. Ashtanga Yoga is a dynamic practice that combines breath and movement, and emphasizes the importance of consistent practice. It is composed of a set of postures that are sequenced and linked together in a particular order, and the practice is designed to purify the practitioner and bring them closer to their true self.

The Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

The eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga are Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi. Yama and Niyama are ethical guidelines that set the foundation for the practice; they provide a code of behavior and attitude on both external and internal levels. Asana are the postures, and Pranayama are the breathing techniques. Pratyahara is the practice of withdrawing the senses from external objects, and Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi are the three stages of meditation.

Norman Allen’s Ashtanga Yoga

Norman Allen, a teacher of Ashtanga Yoga, has developed a unique approach to the practice. He emphasizes the importance of mindfulness and explores ways to bring awareness to the body and breath during the practice. His focus is on building strength, flexibility, and balance through a combination of postures and breathing exercises. He also encourages students to explore their own practice and make modifications as needed.


Ashtanga Yoga is an ancient system of yoga comprised of eight limbs. Norman Allen’s approach to Ashtanga Yoga emphasizes mindfulness and encourages individuals to explore their own practice. Through a combination of postures, breathing exercises, and meditation, Ashtanga Yoga can help to purify the practitioner and bring them closer to their true self.